Texas Drivers Ed Online
TDLR-approved Texas Online Driver Education!
Designed for teens 14–17 years of age who want to complete their driver education on their own, without a parent, guardian, or instructor.
- Compatible with Any Device
- Courses Meet All State Permit and License Requirements
Course price only $99!
Texas Drivers Ed Online
#1 - Enroll In the Course
Get started in minutes by paying with a credit card. Access our interactive course to study at your own pace. The online course can also be accessed on all mobile devices. Simply click to enroll and then you’ll be able to start the course.
#2 - Take Permit Test Online
Take the learner’s permit exam online, which is DPS-approved and included with the course.
#3 - Receive Certificate
After successfully passing your online permit exam, a Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964) will be mailed to you.
Texas Drivers Ed Courses
Self-Taught Driver Education Online Course
Our TDLR-approved Self-Taught Online Driver Ed course is for teens 14–17 years of age. We’ve designed this course for students who want to fulfill their driver ed requirements on their own, without requiring the aid of a guardian, parent, or instructor. This Online Driver Ed course is a convenient way to learn driving safety while fulfilling the 32 hours of state-required classroom education.
How Does Self-Taught Online Driver Ed Work?
Instead of traditional classroom driver education, this course lets teens who enroll in our TDLR-approved course to immediately begin their driver education online after registering. This means no instructor approval process or waiting for forms from the state to arrive by mail.
Students aged 15–17 will be eligible for a learner’s permit after completing Module 1 (6 hours) of this course. They can then take the learner’s permit exam online, which is DPS-approved and included with the course. After completing this requirement, a Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964) will be mailed to the student. The student, accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, then presents this certificate and other required forms to a local DPS office to obtain their learner’s permit.
What Will I Learn?
In our Self-Taught Online Driver Ed course, teens learn new driver defensive driving habits, traffic laws, and more. Topics covered include sharing the road with other drivers, handling emergency situations, avoiding the dangers of distracted driving, and reading traffic signals and signs.
Course price only $99!
Texas Drivers Ed Online Frequently Asked Questions
When do I apply for my Learner’s Permit?
Our Self-Taught Online Drivers Ed course satisfies the driver education requirements for both a Texas learner’s permit and a Texas driver’s license. The TDLR-approved Self-Taught Online Driver Ed course is for teens 14–17 years of age. Once the first module of either course is completed, the student may apply for a learner’s permit if he or she is 15 years old. The student then continues the course while also completing behind-the-wheel training in preparation to apply for a driver’s license at the age of 16.
Are these courses Texas state-approved?
Yes, all three of our courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR).
How long are these Driver Education online courses?
The online portion of the Self-Taught Driver Ed course is the state-required minimum of 32 hours.
Can I sign up and begin the course today?
The course can be started immediately after you register for the course.
What does behind-the-wheel training consist of?
After you have received your Texas learner’s permit, you may begin to practice driving a car if your parent or guardian with a valid driver’s license is in the car with you. To obtain a driver’s license, you must complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training and at least 10 of these hours must be at night.
What is an Impact course?
Every student must complete a mandatory Impact course provided free by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to obtain a Texas driver’s license. The program is meant to reduce the risk of being involved in automobile crashes, especially those caused by distracted driving, the number one killer of drivers in the U.S. Proof of completion of your Impact course must be provided when you apply for your license at the DPS.
Will I get a certificate after I complete the first module?
You will receive a certificate after the first module of the course is completed. Bring this to the DPS to apply for your learner’s permit.
Can I stop in the middle of the course?
Yes, you may break up the course into as many sessions as you like. Log on and off as much as you want — Your course progress will be saved.
Do I have to be 15 to start the course?
No, you may register and begin the course at the age of 14, but you must be 15 to apply for a learner’s permit.
What if I have a question while taking the course?
If you have any questions while taking the course, customer support is available 24/7 through live chat or email.