The answer to this question is both yes and no. Certain driving laws are universal throughout the United States, such as obeying the speed limit and traffic signals. However, some laws vary from state to state.
For example, in California, it is illegal to text while driving. However, in Nebraska, there is no specific law against texting while driving. This means that if you have a California driver’s license, you would need to be aware of this difference in the law if you were driving in Nebraska.
There are also some differences in the penalties for traffic offenses from state to state. In California, a first-time DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor. But in Nebraska, it is regarded as a felony. This means that if you are convicted of a DUI in Nebraska, you will face harsher penalties than you would in California.
So, while there are some driving laws that are universal throughout the United States, there are also some that vary from state to state. It is necessary to be aware of these differences if you plan on driving in a state other than your own.
Can I Use My Out–of–State Driving License in New York?
Similar to the question above, the answer is both yes and no. While your non-New York driver’s license will technically allow you to drive in New York, there are some things to be aware of.
First, while your out-of-state license will allow you to drive in New York, it is important to note that New York has different traffic laws than California. So, you will need to be familiar with the traffic laws of New York before driving there.
Second, even though you can drive in New York, your insurance may not be valid there. This means that if you get into an accident in the Big Apple, your insurance may not cover the damages.
So, while you can technically use your out-of-state driver’s license to drive in New York, you must be aware of the differences in traffic laws and insurance coverage.
Check out our New York Drivers Education course!
Does My California Driver’s License Work in All 50 States?
No, your California driver’s license will not work in all 50 states. While your CA driver’s license will allow you to drive in most states, a few states have different rules for out-of-state drivers.
For example, in New York, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain a New York driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state. So, if you move to New York from California, you can use your CA driver’s license to drive around, but you would need to get your NY driver’s license within 30 days.
What Are Some of the Different State Driving Laws I Need to Know?
You need to be aware of a few different state driving laws if you plan on driving in a state other than your own. As mentioned above, some states have different traffic laws than others. For legal and safety reasons, it is imperative for you to know the traffic laws of the state you are driving in before getting behind the wheel.
Some states have different insurance requirements for out-of-state drivers. Make sure that your insurance is valid in that state before driving around.
Lastly, some states have different rules for obtaining a driver’s license for new residents. For example, as mentioned above, New York requires all out-of-state drivers to obtain a New York driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state. Know what the licensing rules are if you are moving to a new state.
Remember, being a responsible driver means knowing and following all the road rules. So, before driving in a state other than your own, research the state’s specific laws and regulations. Taking a drivers education course can provide information you need to stay safe on the road.
Other State-Specific Driving Laws Every Driver Should Know
Alabama Driving Laws
In Alabama, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain an Alabama driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
Alabama raised the penalties for teen drivers and their parents who break restricted license conditions, such as driving after midnight or with too many people.
Need to take a defensive driver course in Alabama? Check out our top-rated course!
Arizona Driving Laws
In Arizona, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain an Arizona driver’s license within 60 days of moving to the state.
For the first six months after getting their learner’s permit or driver’s license, minors in Arizona are banned from using a mobile device while driving.
Are you applying for an AZ driver’s license? Prepare for the Arizona DMV test here.
Arkansas Driving Laws
In Arkansas, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain an Arkansas driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
Arkansas law requires that all drivers maintain continuous financial responsibility for their vehicles. Simply put, you must have insurance on your car at all times.
Are you moving to Arkansas or getting your first license? Learn about our drivers ed online course.
California Driving Laws
In California, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain a California driver’s license within 10 days of moving to the state.
California has some of the strictest distracted driving laws in the country. Drivers are prohibited from using a hand-held cell phone while driving. There are also restrictions on text messaging, emailing, and other forms of electronic communication.
Check out our driving schools in California now!
Connecticut Driving Laws
In Connecticut, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
The state also has a strict cell phone law that prohibits all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while they are behind the wheel. There are also restrictions on text messaging and other forms of electronic communication.
In Connecticut, drivers who have had their license revoked for operating a car while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol must install an ignition interlock device.
To ensure safe driving – check our online drivers ed course in Connecticut.
Delaware Driving Laws
In Delaware, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain a Delaware driver’s license within 60 days of moving to the state.
Delaware’s “Move Over” law requires drivers to move over or slow down when approaching stopped emergency vehicles with their lights activated.
Getting your Delaware driver’s license? Check out our sought-after online drivers ed course!
Florida Driving Laws
In Florida, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain a Florida driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
The Florida Department of Transportation now allows drivers with valid licenses from any other US state to operate autonomous vehicles on state roads, removing restrictions limiting usage to test-driving.
Make sure you pass your licensing exam. Enroll in our online Florida drivers training.
Idaho Driving Laws
In Idaho, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain an Idaho driver’s license within 90 days of moving to the state.
The Idaho law allowed drivers to go 15 miles per hour over the limit when passing on two-lane state roads with a speed limit of 55 mph or higher.
Get ready for your Idaho permit test! Take our practice test today!
Iowa Driving Laws
In Iowa, all out-of-state drivers are required to obtain an Iowa driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
When passing stationary emergency vehicles, including utility trucks and garbage trucks with flashing lights, Iowa drivers must do so as quickly as possible to avoid becoming a traffic hazard. Also, when drivers are unable to change lanes safely, they must reduce their speed.
In addition, Iowa red light restrictions were altered. On a red light, turning vehicles may now turn right into a right turn lane. Left-turning drivers may now turn into a one-way street’s left turn lane.
On Iowa roads, straight trucks (those with all axles connected to the same frame) can now be 45 feet long, 4 feet greater than previously permitted.
Know the road rules and be a safe driver. Check our Iowa defensive driving course!
For more state law differences and state-specific driving rules, check out our blog next month as we continue discussing this topic.
Get access to a state-approved and licensed online drivers education course at DMVEdu.org. Study anywhere, anytime and on any device. Click here to leave us a message!
Royalty-free images supplied from PixaBay