There are many ways to get a driving ticket, and even though safe driving is always encouraged, sometimes you make a mistake. You are human after all, we all are, and a small driving mistake resulting in a ticket is the least harmful mistake you can make on the road.
In this article, you will learn about the types of traffic tickets and traffic schools and their benefits.
Traffic Tickets in Nevada
The first thing you should know is that Nevada treats traffic tickets as misdemeanors, not as infractions like California. What is important is the severity of your transgression. For example, most traffic violations do not result in the kind of criminal conviction that shows up when you are looking for a job.
Generally, you can differentiate three kinds of traffic violations in Nevada:
- Moving violation
Moving violations address your actions while the vehicle is moving. For example, speeding and running a red light are the most common moving violations.
- Non-moving violation
Non-moving violations encompass things like driving without a valid license and driving without wearing a seat belt.
- Parking tickets
These are the most minor traffic violations. A good example of parking that could earn you a ticket is parking within 20 feet of a fire hydrant.
Other than the fine that you have to pay, when you receive a ticket, you also get “bad” driving points. For instance, if you are speeding up to 10mph over the limit, you will get one point.
Two points for driving too slow and four points for following too close. If you get twelve points in one year, your driving license will be suspended automatically.
The purpose of driving points is to keep track and penalize repeat traffic offenders. From a legal perspective, the whole system is very simple and mostly automatic.
What is Nevada Traffic School
Nevada traffic school is here to remind you of the safe driving techniques and traffic laws. Drivers usually apply either as a part of a plea bargain agreement with a court of law or because they want to reduce the points on their driving record.
Note that if you are taking the course because of the plea bargain, you cannot receive a point reduction. And you can only attend traffic school once a year to reduce your points.
Nevada Traffic School Benefits
To answer the question that brought you here. A Nevada traffic school course cannot erase the ticket. It is most certainly helpful, and also cheaper to complete traffic school than paying the fine. But the ticket stays in the system because the state of Nevada treats it as a misdemeanor.
If you are not a repeating traffic offender then this shouldn’t worry you. The ticket won’t show when your employer-to-be asks for a background check, and it won’t block you from any future education.
There are two major benefits to completing traffic school:
- You can get three points reduction from your record
- Insurance companies can offer you a discount
Where to Find Nevada Traffic School
The easiest and fastest way to reduce points from your driving record is with a Nevada traffic school online course. This course is approved by the Nevada DMV, which means you will be able to use the proof of completion for points reduction or a discount on your insurance premium, or both.
These courses can often be time-consuming because you have to travel. And after a day at work or school, another few hours of sitting in a classroom don’t sound appealing. The online course is simple to start, easy to follow, and if you paid attention to the lessons, painless to pass.
Are You Eligible For a Nevada Traffic School Course?
The state of Nevada has some of the easiest-to-meet requirements for a traffic course.
You have to:
- Hold a valid Nevada driver’s license
- Take the course for the first time in the past year
- Have fewer than 12 points on your driving record
- Not have pending traffic violations
Another fact that differentiates Nevada from other states is that the DMV requires two traffic school courses. There is a five-hour course for students with two or fewer violations made in the past twelve months. But students with three or more violations in the past year have to take an eight-hour course.
Regardless of the length, the final result is the same. You will receive proof of completion that has to be notarized. Then you can mail the certificate to the DMV or your car insurance provider.